This is “Is This The News Of The World?”

My name is Andy Kerr and I am a fourth year Commercial Music student studying at UWS in Ayr, Scotland. 

I am running this blog as a creative project with the aim of looking at the songs I write from a different angle. As a songwriter, I struggle sometimes to find a stimulus to write about – this project looks to change that.

For one working week from a Monday to Friday I will select a newspaper headline at random and use it to write a song. Once I use one publication’s headline I will not be allowed to use the same publication again for the duration of the week. Once I have written each song I shall record it and upload it here via soundcloud. Each song will be completed and ready to hear by 10PM each night. In addition to each song being uploaded, I shall also put up each song’s lyrics and chords as well as an explanation about the headline I chose and how I went about writing each song.

I haven’t decided upon a suitable week to start yet, but I am looking forward to getting started and sharing my efforts with the world. I’m particularly looking forward to writing about current affairs, something I’ve never really written about before.

I’ll let you know when I’m starting the project. In the meantime, stay tuned for more updates.

Leave a comment